7 things everyone should know about portable extinguishers

Having a portable fire extinguisher in your home and/or your place of business is essential. Every day, extinguishers save lives and prevent catastrophic damage. Given this, the team at Guard-X thought it worthwhile to pass on seven useful pieces of information about fire extinguishers.


1. Types of extinguishers. Since not all fires can be put out in the same way, there are different types, or classes, of portable fire extinguishers (A, B, C, D, K and others). For example, class K extinguishers are meant to be used in a kitchen and are designed to put out oil or grease fires. Using another type of extinguisher can cause such fires to spread.


2. Placement. Extinguishers have to be easy to access and properly mounted on the wall. They need to be at least 10 centimetres off the ground and no higher than 1.5 metres.

3. Recharging. After it has been used —even if just for a few seconds — a rechargeable fire extinguisher has to be refilled. If the extinguisher isn’t rechargeable, it needs to be disposed of and replaced. Some types of extinguishers need to be recharged every 5 or 6 years, regardless of whether or not they’ve been used.

4. Tamper seal. The tamper seal prevents the pull pin from being removed from the extinguisher accidentally. If it isn’t tight enough or is missing, the canister could become discharged, rendering the extinguisher ineffective.

5. Defects. If an extinguisher is dropped, it needs to be inspected by an expert. Even if it has no noticeable damage, its integrity could be compromised and in some cases it can become discharged.

6. Visual inspection. You need to inspect your fire extinguishers every month. The pressure gauge arrow has to be in the green zone, the pull pin has to be in place and the canister has to be free of damage and rust.

7. Annual servicing. You should have your extinguisher inspected by a certified technician once a year. A complete inspection that conforms to the NPFA 10 Standard for Portable Fire Extinguishers ensures that your device is properly charged, in good condition and entirely functional.

Do you have concerns about the condition of your fire extinguisher, or do you want to purchase one of superior quality? At Guard-X, we refill, inspect, sell and annually service portable fire extinguishers. Contact us today!

0 0

7 choses importantes à savoir sur les extincteurs portatifs

Que ce soit pour un usage résidentiel ou commercial, les extincteurs portatifs jouent un rôle essentiel dans la prévention des incendies. Puisque votre extincteur pourrait vous sauver la vie, chez Guard-X, nous avons pensé vous présenter cette liste de 7 choses à savoir sur cet outil indispensable. Bonne lecture!


1. Le type d’extincteur : il existe plusieurs sortes d’extincteurs portatifs, tous les feux ne se gérant pas de la même manière. Les extincteurs ont donc différentes classes (A, B, C, D et K) qui permettent de couper toute source d’alimentation d’un feu. La classe K, par exemple, est à prioriser en cuisine pour éviter d’aggraver un feu sur une cuisinière.


2. L’emplacement : l’extincteur doit être facilement accessible et correctement fixé au mur. Il doit se trouver à une hauteur minimale de 10 cm du sol et à une hauteur maximale de 1,5 m.

3. La recharge : un extincteur utilisé, même pour quelques secondes, doit absolument être rempli à nouveau, s’il est rechargeable, ou jeté, dans le cas contraire. Certains extincteurs nécessitent un remplissage tous les 5 ou 6 ans, qu’ils aient été utilisés ou non. Renseignez-vous!

4. La goupille : celle-ci dispose d’un scellé pour assurer le bon fonctionnement de l’extincteur. Une goupille insuffisamment serrée ou absente peut amener la bonbonne à se décharger, rendant l’extincteur inefficace.

5. Les accrochages : un extincteur qui a été échappé doit être inspecté par un expert. Il pourrait présenter des dommages, parfois imperceptibles à l’œil nu, qui le mèneraient à se décharger ou à représenter un danger.

6. L’inspection visuelle : vous ou une personne désignée devez vérifier tous les mois vos extincteurs. La jauge de pression doit se situer dans la zone verte, la goupille doit être bien en place et le cylindre ne doit ni être endommagé ni présenter des traces de rouille. La poudre à l’intérieur, s’il y a lieu, ne doit pas être condensée.

7. L’entretien annuel : un technicien qualifié doit vérifier vos extincteurs chaque année. Une inspection complète, respectant la norme NFPA 10, vous assure d’avoir un appareil correctement rempli, en excellent état et entièrement fonctionnel. Cet entretien doit être certifié.

Vous avez un doute sur l’état de votre appareil ou vous désirez vous procurer un extincteur de qualité supérieure? Chez Guard-X, nous effectuons l'entretien, l’inspection et le remplissage d’extincteurs portatifs. Contactez-nous sans tarder!

0 0
Feed